logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
PTJim  
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 16, 2019 4:44:14 PM(UTC)
PTJim

Groups: Registered, Registered Users, Subscribers

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 6 post(s)

Is there a simple guide to walk me through converting a fairly-complex Exploration (using several functions, including some password-protected toolkit functions, and 7 filter tabs) into the System Tester for rough backtesting?

I don't use System Tests because I'm a discretionary countertrend trader rather than mechanical-system user, but I'm curious about performance of a newly-modified Exploration.  It "feels" like a high-quality filter based on reviewing the history of charts that pass the filters, but System Testing might provide more insight by simulating trade execution of all results over time.

Yes, I'm trying to save time and shortcut the process (cutting/pasting my Exploration code into the right boxes) rather than learning how to code System Tests from the ground up, because I don't expect to be using it much in the future.  Just hoping I can hammer out this one to see what happens.

I'm running MS16 EOD.

Thanks.

Edited by user Saturday, March 16, 2019 4:46:46 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

MS Support  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 19, 2019 5:19:08 PM(UTC)
MS Support

Groups: Moderators, Registered, Registered Users, Subscribers

Was thanked: 154 time(s) in 150 post(s)
Originally Posted by: PTJim Go to Quoted Post

Is there a simple guide to walk me through converting a fairly-complex Exploration (using several functions, including some password-protected toolkit functions, and 7 filter tabs) into the System Tester for rough backtesting?