logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
JKrider  
#1 Posted : Sunday, April 17, 2005 3:02:18 AM(UTC)
JKrider

Groups: Registered, Registered Users

I am a complete newbee to Metastock, so excuse me if this is self evident. I wish to make an expert/explorer based upon multiple time frames of a stock. Reference is the Underground Trader who uses a 3 min, 8 min, and 13 min chart for setup with a 1 minute chart as the trigger. For example if the 5 peroid MA is flat in the 3/8/13 time frames and the 15 MA is moving upwards to the 5 MA with an overall uptrend this is the setup. The trigger is the one minute candle closing up over the 5 MA and the one minute stochastics rising up. I know this is complicated, but can Metastock do it?
hayseed  
#2 Posted : Sunday, April 17, 2005 4:02:02 PM(UTC)
hayseed

Groups: Registered, Registered Users, Subscribers

hey j..... 1 minute triggers, i like your style..... yes your plan can be coded into meta and no it really wouldn't be difficult..... most, if not all, experts can be applied to any chart irrespective to time frames..... of course there might be a buy alert on the 3 minute , a sell alert on the 13, a hold on the 30 and another buy in the 60...... in this not very good example you can see the expert buy/sell happy/sad faces ...... btw in your example, the 15 pma moving up towards the 5 pma, thats similiar to the 5 pma moving down toward the 15.... which is often a hint of temp downtrend.... plot both in the same window and you see what i mean.... there are far better coders here than me, if no one provides it i'll try...... beware, my coding often has high % returns, in the laugh department that is.....h
JKrider  
#3 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2005 7:59:46 PM(UTC)
JKrider

Groups: Registered, Registered Users