logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
j32driver  
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 6, 2007 9:16:16 AM(UTC)
j32driver

Groups: Registered, Registered Users

Ok. So I've come to grips with the nasty little twist that purchasing the "North American" package from Rueters doesn't get you the North American Indices. I'm a brand new trader just getting started, and I can't justify spending an additional $120 per year to get a chart for the DJIA, SP500, and the NDX. The question is, what do I do about it?

Can I build my own index? My initial idea was to creat a composite of a composite until I combined everything I needed into the index (1+2=A, and 3+4=B, then A+B=index). The problem, It doesn't look like I can create a composite from 2 composites.

Can anyone offer advice or point me in the right direction?

hayseed  
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 6, 2007 12:33:01 PM(UTC)
hayseed

Groups: Registered, Registered Users, Subscribers

hey j..... it's good to have a budget when it comes to investing, otherwise we can easily go overboard with expenses.....

its possible to create your own replica of the djia but it's a good deal of work..... far better would be to use one of the free data vendors such as yahoo.... you can download free historical data in cvs format.... then using the meta downloader, create the indices....... that still will be time consuming....

one of patrick's orignal dll had a index maker in it..... that version might be floating around somewhere, but i don't see it in the download section.........

120 a year would be alot for just 3 charts but that stand alone 120 package contains quite a bit more..... such as the broad market type indicators.... those indicators alone are worth the price......but like i said we all need a budget and your wise to draw the line somewhere..... h

j32driver  
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 6, 2007 3:13:33 PM(UTC)
j32driver