logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
hk88888  
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 4, 2013 7:55:11 PM(UTC)
hk88888

Groups: Registered, Registered Users

I've been trying to find a simple utility that will help me to convert Metastock data files to ASCII/TXT files. I am unable to use The Downloader's built in converter because the ASCII files it generates automatically replaces the first character of the ticker symbol with an underscore at the beginning of the file name which causes problems.

I have found the following tools which 'apparantly' can convert the files, but I am not a Techie by any means and have not been able to get any of them to work... even after spending many hours trying to learn how to become a computer programmer!

1. MsCmdLineUtilsV1.8.1 (Mansoor's toolkit)
2. Atem-0.3.5 (https://bitbucket.org/rudimeier/atem/overview)
3. MSConvert (http://themech.net/2008/08/reading-metastock-files/#ms_convert)

If anyone can help me, I would appreciate it. I dont actually even mind PAYING for a piece of software that can do this.. if only I could find one!!!

haddison  
#2 Posted : Friday, July 5, 2013 3:28:01 PM(UTC)
haddison

Groups: Registered, Registered Users, Subscribers

I've never had the problem of the Downloader replacing the first character of the ticker symbol with an underscore. Is it possible to give the header and one bar of data as an example? It could be something in the settings.

I do a lot of ASCII file converting. Most of the time I use the Downloader although sometimes I write my own programs, but only when the Downloader can't do what I want to do, such as convert a large number of bars (e.g. over 65,500).

Thanks.
hk88888  
#3 Posted : Friday, July 5, 2013 7:46:25 PM(UTC)
hk88888

Thanks for the reply. Here are the conversion settings I am using in the downloader (Version 11.0):

Source File Type: Metastock