logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Dan A  
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 2:36:21 AM(UTC)
Dan A

Groups: Registered, Registered Users

Hi All, I purchased Metastock 11 just under a month ago after a long chat with a very helpful sales person, on the understanding that I could backtest my trading ideas, even on commodities, and that the system tester was incredibly versatile in being able to deal with my own unique (or maybe not!) systems. I am by no means an expert on programming systems in under a month, but my initial systems are very simple and I am confident the buy and sell rules I have programmed are correct. What I cannot seem to work out is the money management side of things - ie how much of my equity to place on a trade when a buy or sell signal is generated. From browsing the forums, it looks to me like the only real way of testing futures is with the Points Only box ticked. For me, this is no use, as the money management part is absolutely key in determining the historic success of the system. I have previously used the Advanced Charts tool available free to account holders of IG Index in the UK, and got good results, but because of optimization parameters, it can be slow. I can replicate the signal coding, but not the money management in Metastock. Am I missing something, or does Metastock not really cater for futures traders? Thanks.
wabbit  
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 2:51:48 AM(UTC)
wabbit

Groups: Registered, Registered Users, Subscribers, Unverified Users

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 16 post(s)